Lonely Birthday

25 Aug

 

today i turn 36..  emm, getting older liao..

for most of my friends at the same age with me, some are married with kids..  some are married, divorced, and remarried..  some are having new girlfriends every week although have married with kids..  some are getting new cars every year..  some appears on magazines and TV all the time..  some keep opening new accounts in various banks..  some are keep asking me “when are you going to get married..??”  emmm, obviously, this is a tricky question and yet a questionable question..  tiada awek macam mana nak kahwin..??  (no GF how to married..??)

for the past 35 years i have gone through all my lonely birthday..  this year also no exception.. 😥

for my 36th birthday today..  no icing cake..  no candles..  no birthday cards..  no birthday party..  no birthday song..  no birthday wishes..  no birthday surprise (emm, for example, a pretty girl with rabbit ears jumping up from a big present box.. :p)..  sadly i have to google to get this birthday cake picture to console myself..

yeah, happy birthday simon..!!  :)  emmm, syok sendiri je..  :p

emm, what do i have at the age of 36..??  a Honda kapcai motorbike, a bank account book which the figures never get increase, huge debt for my previous study loan, 3 bachelor degrees, 1 master degree, 2 doctorates degree, with 1 ongoing clinical master degree..  but i am still currently a poor doctor spending most of my time in the hospital with heavy workload looking after the patients..  gaji tak setimpal kerja, macam mana nak kahwin..??

for the past 35 years i had made the same wishes..  but none of them come true..  i still bungkus nasi and eat alone inside my little room..  nobody to share my egg-tarts with..  lie on my own shoulder when i am tired..  sing beautiful songs to the bird, and kokokan ayam mengiringi irama lagu dan suara merdu saya..  share my popcorn with a stranger sitting beside me.. 😥

no matter how, for this year, i am going to make the same wishes again, holding tight my dreams in my heart, patiently awaiting for the presence of “her” into my life..

ya, 1 year, 10 years, 100 years..  i will be right here waiting for you, my angel..

 

17 Responses to “Lonely Birthday”

  1. just Jules August 25, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

    Chill doc! And have a blessed & happy birthday =)
    A short poem for your birthday present (original ok?? haha)😉
    “Today my friend Simon celebrates his big day, So to commemorate this occasion – to him I want to say: May you stay young in every way, may your life start anew. May you face the coming year, In good health and good cheer. May all your loans be paid, may more money then be made. May you find your special one, may you have many sons. May you heal many every year, And never wish you were an engineer! May every day be a new start, May you never run short of egg tarts. May you always find happiness, In the world that God gave us.”

    • Simon August 26, 2010 at 12:07 am #

      hi Julan.. thanks for your poem..🙂 will make a special egg tart for you..🙂

  2. Tan Mooi Yong December 10, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    Hi,Dr.Simon. I am Mui Hoon’s sister. Your “Lonely Birthday” make me a bit touch. First of all, I would like to wish you Happy Belated Birthday 2010. May your dreams come true soon and your little angel will come to you soon. Although you have past through 36 years lonely birthday,but what you have done now is meaningful everyday. Compare to everyting,its worth. Sure you will get some other more valuable gift from god soon. Accpet my wish and be happy every day.🙂

    • simon December 10, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

      hi Mooi Yong..🙂 thanks for ur wishes..🙂

  3. aiMie February 16, 2011 at 3:59 am #

    so touching n im crying… T__T

    • Simon Sim February 17, 2011 at 12:33 am #

      hehe.. nak tissue paper..? :p

      • aiMie February 17, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

        xnk…😦

  4. aiMie February 17, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

    just want to see u hepi..or i’ll feel guilty…

  5. Aja Khairuddin July 25, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    i had the worst birthday too yesterday..i found your post while searching for images of ‘lonely birthday’ =(

    • Simon Sim July 25, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

      hi Aja.. happy belated birthday.. 🙂 life is sometimes up and down.. when we r in the down side, always look to the up side.. cheers 🙂

  6. Vivienne Yapp August 10, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    Hi, Dr. Simon. Happy Becoming 37th Birthday in advance for this year of 2011! ^____^
    May all your wishes come true. May you have a happy, prosperous & healthy life. May you live & eat well. May someone organize a birthday celebration for you so that you’ll not have another lonely birthday this year.

    P/s: I had stumble upon your blog as I am a fan of Dr. Pagalavan’s blog. Previously I was a medical student for a couple of years already, but fearing by the time I graduated, the amount of doctors will be outnumbered, I decided to change my course after reading Dr. Pagalavan’s articles about the future of doctors despite my passions and years that I have spent.

    • Simon Sim August 10, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

      hi Vivienne Yapp.. nice to know u.. thanks for ur early birthday wishes.. hope u success in ur future career.. 🙂

  7. Janet December 27, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    Same here in 2012. Guess u find yr miss right already

    • Simon Sim December 28, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

      hi Janet.. 🙂
      ha ha.. i’m still waiting for my ms right.. :p
      any good gal to introduce..? 🙂

  8. nao October 11, 2013 at 11:27 pm #

    hahaha….. look pretty gal only..widen ur sear area la .. Insyallah jmp nnt tu =)

Leave a Reply

